Treaties, States Parties and Commentaries
  • Print page
Composition of the Chambers
Article 11
As amended by Security Council Resolution 1411 of 17 May 2002

Composition of the Chambers
1. The Chambers shall be composed of sixteen independent judges, no two of whom may be nationals of the same State, who shall serve as follows:
(a) Three judges shall serve in each of the Trial Chambers;

(b) Seven judges shall be members of the Appeals Chamber. The Appeals Chamber shall, for each appeal, be composed of five of its members.

2. A person who for the purposes of membership of the Chambers of the International Tribunal for Rwanda could be regarded as a national of more than one State shall be deemed to be a national of the State in which that person ordinarily exercises civil and political rights.

<< Previous     Up     Next >>